Karnataka Roller Skating Association (KRSA) affiliated to Roller Skating Federation of India (RSFI) and recognized by Sports Authority of Karnataka was formed in the year 1976 by former R.C.C Director Sri. S. Narayana.

Roller skating consists of three streams namely Roller Hockey, Artistic Skating and Speed Skating. In the last couple of decades "Speed skating"' has become a very popular skating event in Karnataka. Twenty years back it was a game mostly played in the city of Bangalore. Today roller skating is a popular sport in more than 15 districts of Karnataka and many schools in the state have included it in  their curriculum.